my top 11 anime of winter 2014

1st Witch Craft Works

This is one of the only show this season that I will watch willingly (too bad I’m still trying to beat last season, I would watch way more of this If the bad shows were not staking me).  It takes the modern magical warrior and makes it fun again, we have spent way too long on “what will my family think” and “I have to save the planet” it’s such a relief to see a show where the stakes are not world destroying(far as we know).  Plus it’s nice to have bad guys who have personalise of their own.  *how often do you see the enemy goofing about in a karaoke bar *

 https://icysquirrel.wordpress.com/2014/02/18/witch-craft-works-midway-impression/

 

2nd Nobunaga the Fool

This anime does not know if it’s a fighting robot action anime or a historical anime. It does manage to blend the two but, I honestly don’t think that the robots really add much to the story as a haul (in fact it’s really distracting).

*You’re getting into the nice mood of the historical setting and then BANG! Giant robot battle.*

https://icysquirrel.wordpress.com/2014/02/10/nobunaga-the-fool-midway-impression/

 

3rd Hozuki no Reitetsu

^_^ Like I said many a time “what I find funny another might find boring”

All I know is that Hozuki no Reitetsu is a dark comedy that leaves me in stitches every time.

https://icysquirrel.wordpress.com/2014/02/16/hozuki-no-reitetsu-midway-impression/

*I might only make first/last impressions of comedies in the future.*

 

4th The Pilot’s Love Song

I wasn’t really sure where I stood with this show when it started however, as it progressed I can now understand where everything links together and the relationships these people share. These characters could actual made me cry by having a heart melting confiscation that felt real and honest (no cheap tricks just heart-warming words).

I fear that my love for this show is going to be destroyed by how this anime chooses to pay its last couple of episodes. *hopefully the action will pull it though its final challenge (don’t really care about the romance).*

https://icysquirrel.wordpress.com/2014/02/17/the-pilots-love-song-midway-impression/

 

5th Silver Spoon 2

I know that with a lot of second season the shows can radically change in feel and mood but, in the case of silver spoon I feel that I lost a lot of its charm in the transition.  My biggest problem with this season is that it seems to ignore the agricultural aspect of the show so that we can spend more time on…..well…school life without the school.  By taking away agricultural lesson we have just been left with the day to day life of a city boy that goes to a farming school.

https://icysquirrel.wordpress.com/2014/03/01/silver-spoon-2-midway-impression/

 

6th Nobunagun

This is a cool looking show……the problem is that that’s all it has going for it.

I honestly can’t remember what’s going on in this show, nether can I remember any of these characters names or personalities.  *This is purely sugar for the eyes.*

https://icysquirrel.wordpress.com/2014/02/09/nobunagun-midway-impression/

 

7th Wake Up, Girls!

This is a good if you want to see a group of underdogs trying to work their way up without the help of a big corporation. Like many idol anime it suffers the problem of having too many characters and not enough episode to give each one a story however, the show could have at least made their clothes look different or give them creative hair (I really can’t tell them apart).

https://icysquirrel.wordpress.com/2014/03/06/wake-up-girls-midway-impression/

 

8th Wizard Barristers

The show fails at being interesting because it don’t actually focus on what it set out to do. When you offer me a show about Barristers I expect to see are character spend a lot of time in the court house. Who would have of guessed that this show was about an annoying random girl running around and creating giant robots form that tile.  *why hasn’t she been dismissed yet?*

I feel that this show could have been a lot better if they were detectives.

https://icysquirrel.wordpress.com/2014/03/03/wizard-barristers-midway-impression/

 

9th Soni-Ani: SUPER SONICO THE ANIMATION

o-o I can’t be mad at this show. Sure it’s boring and does not offer simulating characters but, it was never designed to entertain in first place.  Do you know who sonico is? If yes, the show has achieved its goal. *spread the word of the girl who never takes her head phones off.*

https://icysquirrel.wordpress.com/2014/02/13/3664/

 

10th Z/X IGNITION

Is anyone ells watching this??? This is trying to sell you a card game…I think?? *it sad when I have to look up what your show is about.* the story is very similar to how bakugan starts (random monsters came and people tames them). With a show like that you don’t have to explain why the kids can battle with them, it’s just childish fun (kids can do anything).  when you start to aiming a show like that at an older ordinance WE WANT ANSWERS! Using  the phrase “it just is” does not work when you’re trying to tell a story about how theses monsters are destroying the world.

https://icysquirrel.wordpress.com/2014/03/04/zx-ignition-midway-impression/

 

11th Magical Warfare

T_o This show is bad that I actual write a log for episode.

Episodes: 1 2 3 4  *i started properly writing about them when i hit episode 3*

2 responses

  1. Conspicuous absence of Noragami here

    1. ^_^ i only really watch anime on crunchyrol (other anime sites are usual region locked)

      this is everything i know that is watchable from the uk.

      http://www.crunchyroll.co.uk/ *takes away all the shows I can’t watch*

Leave a Reply

