first impression Black Butler

81prnst2lul-_sy445_

I Buy my fair share of anime DVD’s.

 

^-o It’s odd how I avoid talking about anime DVD’s seeing as me and DB watch a load of them (he has no internet).

Black Butler is about a demon butler who is contractually linked to Ciel Phantomhive.

I have heard a lot about this anime and my reaction to the first 2 episodes was…. *drumroll*… annoyance.

I might have to re-watch it subbed because the Dub voices are so fake that my brain is naturally rejecting them as people (I don’t usually have a problem with Dub’s).

Seeing as I have read 2 volumes of the manga I think a little more context needs to be given to this one line: “I’m one hell of a butler”

In the manga I don’t think you know he is a demon when he first drops the line making you think:“There is something more sinister to this guy.” In the anime your reaction to the line after hearing it many times in 2 episodes is “It’s not funny the hundredth time you say it!”.

The animation looks feasible and the diversions from the source are understandable.

2 responses

  1. You are English, right? Yes, the dub probably isn’t a good idea because it will probably annoy you, even though I love Brina Palencia and J Michael Tatum.

  2. I couldn’t stand the dub of this (and normally while I watched more subbed than dubbed I’ll watch either). Sebastian’s voice in particular drove me crazy in English but the Japanese voice is absolutely perfect for the character.

Leave a Reply

